Arlington Tomorrow Foundation Appoints New Advisory Committee Members
By Arlington Tomorrow Foundation
Posted on December 06, 2022, December 06, 2022

Arlington Tomorrow Foundation Advisory Committee

Left to right: Dr. Alberto Parra, Chante Brantley, Lisa Thompson, Jean Humphry, PhD, Solomon Adair.


Created in 2007 by the Arlington City Council, the Arlington Tomorrow Foundation is a permanent charitable endowment with a mission to contribute to a thriving Arlington. Since its creation, the Foundation has contributed more than $42 million to almost 500 projects or programs.

The Arlington Tomorrow Foundation is governed by a nine-member Board of Directors comprised of elected City of Arlington Council members and the mayor.

Two new Arlington residents, who submitted applications, were appointed to the Advisory Committee at the Arlington Tomorrow Foundation board meeting on October 18, 2022. Members offer varying professional and volunteer backgrounds and some firsthand experience with philanthropy. They also represent geographically diverse areas of Arlington. The Advisory Committee members are expected to meet at least nine times a year and serve a term of two years.

The five-member committee is responsible for reviewing all Letters of Inquiry and applications from local non-profit organizations and City of Arlington departments to ensure that projects and programs are aligned with the foundation's mission and funding priorities. Advisory Committee recommendations are presented to the foundation's Board of Directors for review and final approval.

The new Advisory Committee held its first public meeting on November 17, 2022, in the Arlington Tomorrow Foundation boardroom located at the George W. Hawkes Downtown Library. The foundation awarded a $4 million capital investment gift to build the library in 2015.

Advisory Committee members are Chante Brantley, chair; Lisa Thompson, vice chair; Solomon Adair. New members are, Jean Humphry, PhD and Dr. Alberto Parra.

Arlington Tomorrow Foundation
News, Community, Headlines, City Council