Arlington Police Chief Sworn In As IACP Vice President at Large
By Arlington Police Department
Posted on October 10, 2018, October 10, 2018


Arlington Police Chief Will Johnson was officially sworn in as Vice President at Large for the International Association of Chiefs of Police on Tuesday, October 9, 2018, during the IACP Annual Banquet.

Chief Johnson becomes the first Arlington police chief in the 125 year history of IACP to hold such a position. The IACP is the largest law enforcement leadership organization in the world representing over 36,000 members. Chief Johnson has been a member of the IACP since 2008 and has served in many capacities during his tenure with the organization including as the Chair for the IACP Human and Civil Rights Committee and on the IACP Board of Directors.

"For over 125 years, the IACP has been the leader in guiding the law enforcement profession into the future despite the myriad of social challenges that are present," said IACP President Lou Dekmar. "Will brings a wealth of experience and commitment that will undoubtedly assist our organization as we continue to be the gold standard in training and leadership development."

Chief Johnson plans to work with law enforcement leaders to address social justice issues such as mental health reform and ensuring equal protection under the law for all persons.

"I am grateful to serve in a supportive community where our elected officials and the City Manager seek to use Arlington's influence to positively enhance the policing profession and to contribute to national policy dialogue. On behalf of the entire Arlington PD team, I am humbled to represent them in this new role," said Police Chief Will Johnson. "There are many opportunities to continue the extraordinary work that is being completed by police agencies internationally and to replicate these best practices to promote stronger and healthier communities across the nation and beyond."

Chief Johnson received formal endorsements from many law enforcement organizations including the Texas Police Chiefs Association, California Police Chiefs Association, Massachusetts Chiefs of Police Association, and Utah Chiefs of Police Association.

Headlines, News, Police, Public Safety