Click It Or Ticket
By Office of Communication
Posted on May 21, 2012, May 21, 2012

The Arlington Police Department is participating in the Texas "Click It or Ticket"campaign starting on May 21, 2012 through June 3, 2012. This date range includes Memorial Day Weekend. Additional officers will be out looking for unsecured occupants, including children who are not properly secured.

Here's the law for adults: Texas law requires drivers and all passengers in a vehicle to be secured by a safety belt. Yes, that means unbuckled adult passengers in the back seat now can get tickets, too.

Here's the law for children: Texas law requires children younger than 8 years of age must be in a child safety seat or booster seat unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches.

Traffic crashes remain a leading cause of death in Texas. In 2011, nearly 3,000 people died in fatal collisions on Texas streets and highways. Almost half of those drivers and passengers were not buckled up. Wearing a seat belt reduces the risk of fatal injury by 45 percent for car occupants and 60 percent for light-truck occupants.

"Click it or ticket is much more than issuing citations. The goal is to enhance compliance with seatbelt laws that continue to save lives,"said Motor Officer Dick Hill.

Visit for more information.


Community, Headlines, News, Police