Arlington Voters Elect New Councilwoman, Re-Authorize Street Maintenance Sales Tax
By Office of Communication
Posted on May 07, 2018, May 07, 2018


Arlington voters elected a new District 1 City Council representative, returned three incumbent council members and overwhelmingly re-authorized the Street Maintenance Sales Tax during the May 5, 2018, Joint General and Special Elections.

Helen Moise won the open District 1 seat with 56 percent of the vote, according to unofficial voting totals. Barbara Odom-Wesley, also vying for the North Arlington seat, captured 43 percent of the vote. District 1 Councilman Charlie Parker did not seek re-election.

District 6 At-large Councilman Robert Shepard won 65 percent of the vote over challenger Chris "Dobi" Dobson. District 2 Councilwoman Sheri Capehart and District 7 At-large Councilwoman Victoria Farrar-Myers were unopposed in their bids for re-election.

Click here to learn more about Arlington City Council.

Arlington voters also re-authorized the quarter-cent Street Maintenance Sales Tax for an eight-year period. The vote was 83 percent for and 16 percent against, according to unofficial voting totals.

Click here to learn more about the Street Maintenance Sales Tax.

For more information, visit the Tarrant County Elections website.

Government, News