Arlington Historical Society, City Hold Dedication for World War II Memorial in Downtown
By Susan Schrock, Office of Communication
Posted on May 08, 2021, May 08, 2021

Community members gathered Downtown on Saturday morning for the dedication of the Arlington World War II Memorial.

The bronze and granite memorial, dedicated by the City of Arlington and the Arlington Historical Society, is located in the City Center Plaza between City Hall and the George W. Hawkes Downtown Library. One monument lists the names of 50 Arlington men who lost their lives on battlefields across Europe, North Africa, Asia and the Pacific Islands between 1941 and 1945. Another monument outlines the contributions of more than 5,000 students, alumni and faculty members of North Texas Agricultural College, now the University of Texas at Arlington, who answered the nation’s call to arms during the war.

“We can never repay what these fifty young men did for their country—for us,” said Arlington resident Clete McAlister, who served as emcee in Saturday’s dedication. “As Ronald Reagan said, ‘all we can do is remember.’ The important role of NTAC (UTA) during the war also must be remembered.”

Arlington Historical Society member Wanda Marshall and former resident Richard Aghamalian, along with other community members, have working steadfastly since at least 2005 to make the public memorial a reality. The two new monuments, created by Worthington Monuments, surround artist Paul Tadlock’s statue of Col. Neel Kearby, the only World War II Medal of Honor recipient from Arlington.

“It is my hope that monuments such as these be a constant reminder of the toll a war inflicts on humanity,” said Geraldine Mills, Arlington Historical Society executive director.
The memorial was paid in part by a $16,500 grant from the City’s Historic Preservation Fund. Arlington Mayor Jeff Williams issued a proclamation at the event, saying the monuments “represent a long overdue and heartfelt tribute to our World War II generation and their priceless gift of freedom.”

Arlington city limits in the 1940s did not extend much beyond the intersection of Main and Center streets, which was the center of public life and the place of important public gatherings, McAlister said. That makes City Center Plaza a fitting choice for the public memorial, he added. The plaza in sight of the City’s former train station depot, the place where most of Arlington’s men left for war and the place where either they — or their bodies—returned home.

“For more than 60 years, no one other than the families and friends of these young men knew of their enormous sacrifice for our country—for us,” McAlister said. “These physical objects remind us that their lives, although shortened, were important and should be remembered.”

In Memoriam

The World War II Casualties of Arlington, Texas

In eternal gratitude for the heroes of this community who served in the Armed Forces of the United States during World War II (1941-1945).

And in honor of our native sons who fell in every quarter of the earth in defense of liberty, and whose names are here recorded. This monument stands in sacred memory of those who gave their lives to save our nation from the forces of unspeakable tyranny.

Here we remember the price of freedom


Cpl. Jack A. Conner
Capt. Joe D. Dobbs
Pvt. Douglas O. Foutch
Pvt. Charles A. Hoffpauir
Pvt. Wesley E. Jordan
Sgt. Will A. Maples
Pvt. Melvin K. Markham
Sgt. Howard L. Massey
S/Sgt C. Edward McAlpine
Capt. William H. Nation
S/Sgt. Delmar M. Pachl
S/Sgt. Gustave B. Rahr
1st Lt. Alfred M. Shull
Pfc. Marvin E. Wallace
Cpl. John B. Wheeler
Pvt. Thomas F. Wheeler
S/Sgt. Fred O. Wisrock
Capt. Paul O. Wofford


Ensign Richard A. Chaney
Seaman 1c George Coke, Jr.
AMM 3c Marshall Coke, Jr.
MM 1c William G. Davis
Lt. (j.g.) Harry B. Ditto
Seaman 2c Ross Dee Hunt
Ensign Robert D. Jones, Jr.
Lt. Cmdr. Eugene W. Matlock
PhM 3c Franklin J. Moore
AMM 2c Richard F. Simpson


Pfc. Francis C. Heath
Pfc. John Luther Morgan, Jr.
Cpl. Horace W. Parr
1st Lt. John T. Summerhill, Jr.

Army Air Forces

Sgt. Harold E. Bledsoe
S/Sgt. Joe W. Bradford
2nd Lt. Charles F. Birkhead, Jr.
2nd Lt. Hilton H. Bryce
Maj. Marshall P. Camp
1st Lt. Wm. Fred Cox, Jr.
1st Lt. Frank W. Gardner
Pvt. Jimmy O. Glasgow
1st Lt. Ira Lloyd Gordon
Cpl. Louis W. Hayes
2nd Lt. Carlos H. Johns, Jr.
Col. Neel E. Kearby
T/Sgt. Robert L. McKnight
1st Lt. Kenneth T. Merritt (AVG)
2nd Lt. Burton J. Morton
S/Sgt. Linus C. Thomas
Maj. Joseph C. Willis, Jr.

Downtown, City Council District 5
News, Government, Community