Governor Recognizes Two Arlington Police Officers With Star of Texas Award
By Arlington Police Department
Posted on September 11, 2019, September 11, 2019

Corporal Alex Quintanilla, Officer Christopher Fegley and Arlington Police Chief Will Johnson 

Texas Governor Greg Abbott recognized two Arlington police officers at the State Capitol on Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2019 with the prestigious Star of Texas Award, which is bestowed upon peace officers, firefighters and emergency first responders who are killed or suffer serious injury in the line of duty. Since 2003, 519 brave Texans have been honored.

Corporal Alex Quintanilla and Officer Christopher Fegley received the award in a ceremony at the Texas House of Representatives Chamber in Austin. On Jan. 11, 2019, Corporal Quintanilla was assisting another officers on a traffic stop. During the encounter, the suspect exited the vehicle and began to flee on foot. Corporal Quintanilla chased after the suspect. During the foot pursuit, the suspect fired a handgun, thereby striking Corporal Quintanilla. He is continuing to recover from injuries sustained during the shooting and has returned to a limited duty status with the department.

Motorcycle Officer Christopher Fegley was responding to a robbery in progress on June 4, 2007. He was struck when a motorist failed to yield the right of way and collided with his motorcycle. Officer Fegley was injured as a result of the crash. He has since returned to full duty with the department.

“Being a police officer carries certain inherent risks related to the normal course of duty,” said Police Chief Will Johnson. “These two fine men were simply doing their job in our noble profession. I am proud that their heroic actions are being honored by Governor Abbott.”


News, Public Safety, Police