Set Clocks, Check Smoke Alarms Sunday, Nov. 7 as Daylight Saving Time Ends
By Office of Communication
Posted on November 05, 2021, November 05, 2021

Daylight Saving Time

Daylight Saving Time ends at 2 a.m. Sunday, Nov. 7, 2021, which public safety officials say is a good reminder to switch out smoke detector batteries and to be extra cautious for bike riders and pedestrians during darker commutes.

Check Your Smoke Detectors

The Arlington Fire Department reminds you to test your smoke alarm every month and change the battery at least once a year. The service life of most smoke alarms is 10 years. The manufacture date is found on the back of the alarm. When your smoke alarm is 10 years old, or fails its monthly test, it needs to be replaced.

Here are some facts and figures about smoke alarms from the National Fire Protection Association:

  • In 2012-2016, smoke alarms sounded in more than half (53%) of the home fires reported to U.S. fire departments
  • Almost three of every five home fire deaths resulted from fires in homes with no smoke alarms (40%) or no working smoke alarms (17%)
  • No smoke alarms were present in two out of every five (40%) home fire deaths
  • The death rate per 1,000 reported home fires was more than twice as high in homes that did not have any working smoke alarms compared to the rate in homes with working smoke alarms (12.3 deaths vs. 5.7 deaths per 1,000 fires)
  • In fires in which the smoke alarms were present but did not operate, more than two of every five (43%) of the smoke alarms had missing or disconnected batteries
  • Dead batteries caused one-quarter (25%) of the smoke alarm failures.

Remember to be Safe on the Roadways

Daylight Saving Time also brings earlier evenings and darker commutes. Look Out Texans is reminding drivers to use their lights and watch for people walking and biking.

  • The risk of traffic crashes and fatalities increases when the sun sets, with nearly two-thirds of pedestrian crashes and 80% of fatal pedestrian crashes occurring after dark.
  • People walking and biking are more vulnerable than those who are in motor vehicles, so drivers are reminded to turn their lights on, look out for people walking and biking, and to avoid distractions while driving.
  • State law requires bikes to have a front white light and a red reflector or red light on the back. Walkers or bicyclists can help make the roads safer by wearing bright and/or reflective clothing in the dark.

“Whether in an urban, suburban or rural setting, bicyclists and pedestrians are sharing the roads with drivers, and all users need to remain alert,” said Karla Weaver, a senior program manager for the North Central Texas Council of Governments. “Interactions between drivers, bicyclists and pedestrians can occur just about anywhere in the region. Wherever they are, everyone should be respectful and look out for one another.”

NCTCOG is coordinating Look Out Texans for cities and transportation partners across the region. It comes at a time when motor vehicle crashes involving people bicycling and walking are increasing in North Texas. Between 2015 and 2019, there were more than 10,500 such reported vehicle crashes with pedestrians and bicyclists, resulting in more than 850 fatalities in the Dallas-Fort Worth region. The Federal Highway Administration has designated both Dallas and Fort Worth as Pedestrian and Bicycle Focus Cities based on high rates of crash fatalities.

For more information about the Look Out Texans campaign, including tips that can help make the roads safer for all, visit www.LookOutTexans.org.

News, Public Safety, Fire