Former Rangers Catcher ‘Pudge’ Rodriguez to be Inducted into Hall of Fame Sunday
By Office of Communication
Posted on July 28, 2017, July 28, 2017

Former Rangers Catcher

Former Texas Rangers catcher Ivan "Pudge" Rodriguez will join first baseman Jeff Bagwell, outfielder Tim Raines, former Royals and Braves General Manager John Schuerholz and former commissioner Allan H. "Bud" Selig as the inductees in the National Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Class of 2017 this Sunday.

The ceremony, which begins at 1:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. CT in Cooperstown, New York, will be carried live by the MLB Network.

Rodriguez, who joins Johnny Bench as one of just two catchers ever elected to the Hall of Fame on the first ballot, is the 18th catcher to join the Hall of Fame, the 10th selected in BBWAA voting. Born on November 27, 1971, he will become the youngest current Hall of Fame member. Pitcher Pedro Martinez, who was inducted in 2015, was born on October 25, 1971.

Rodriguez is the sixth player who wore a Texas Rangers uniform to be elected to the Hall of Fame, joining Ferguson Jenkins (1991), Gaylord Perry (1991), Ryan (1999), Rich Gossage (2008), and Bert Blyleven (2011). Ryan, who pitched for the Rangers from 1989-93, is the only previous Hall of Famer with a Rangers cap adorning in plaque. Other Hall of Famers with Rangers connections are managers Ted Williams (1966) and Whitey Herzog (2010), and coach Nellie Fox (1987),

Rodriguez will become the fourth native of Puerto Rico to be inducted into the Hall of Fame, joining Roberto Clemente (1973), Orlando Cepeda (1999), and Roberto Alomar (2011).

Texas Rangers
News, Sports, Texas Rangers