Michael Glaspie elected to City Council; District 1 Run-off June 23, 2012
By Office of Communication
Posted on May 13, 2012, May 13, 2012

It's going to take a run-off election to determine a winner in the race for City Council District 1. Charlie Parker led the field of eight candidates with 29.62 percent of the vote followed by Bill Verkest with 26.79 percent.

Also in the running for the District 1 seat was Ron Smith who won 15.16 percent of the vote, Mike Becknal with 11.53 percent, Ben Bruce took 6.46 percent, Karl Warren with 4.83 percent, Kim Feil with 3.67 percent and Cliff Richardson with 1.94 percent.

Former Arlington school board trustee Michael Glaspie was elected as the City's newest at-large member on Saturday in District 8. Glaspie won 52.79 percent of the vote, defeating four other candidates. Charla Hawkes Vinyard won 24.69 percent, Will Clark won 12.29 percent, David Berg won 5.16 percent and Faith Chatham won 5.08 percent. Glaspie will fill Gene Patrick's unexpired term until next year, when the seat is up for election once again.

District 2 incumbent Sheri Capehart was re-elected to her fifth consecutive term with 68.25 percent of the early vote over Darrell Castillo, a Tarrant County College government instructor. Castillo won 31.75 percent.

District 6 member Robert Shepard and District 7 member Jimmy Bennett, also at-large candidates were re-elected to third terms. Shepard, an attorney, has 66.47 percent of the vote over challenger Phillip Benge, who 33.53 percent of the vote.

Bennett, a certified public accountant, had 69.83 percent of the vote over challenger Jerry Pikulinski with 30.17 percent.

According to Tarrant County records, voter turnout in Arlington was 6.4 percent, with the exception of District 1 which saw a higher voter turnout of 9.29 percent.

For more Tarrant County area election results, visit www.TarrantCounty.com/evote. Click on Election Results.

Michael Glaspie elected to City