Arlington City Council Adopts New Single-Member District Boundaries
By Susan Schrock, Office of Communication
Posted on December 15, 2021, December 15, 2021

Redistricting Task Force

The City Council voted Tuesday night to approve a new map that sets Arlington’s five single-member City Council Districts for the next decade.

Redistricting is the process of updating single-member district boundaries every 10 years in response to new Census data, which now shows Arlington’s population at just over 394,000 people. During the redistricting process, the boundaries of the five single-member districts are updated so that they have approximately the same number of residents.

The new district boundaries, which were drawn so that each district has approximately 78,000 residents, will be in effect for the May 7, 2022, General Election.

Click here to visit the Redistricting webpage and see the new District Map.

Boundary changes include:

  • An area bounded by North Bowen Road, West Sanford Street, Oakwood Lane, and West Randol Mill Road/Westwood Drive moved from District 1 to District 4.
  • An area bounded by East Arkansas Lane, New York Avenue, Sherry Street, and East Mayfield Road moved from District 3 to District 5.

The newly adopted boundaries were recommended Nov. 16 by the 11-member Redistricting Task Force appointed by the City Council to assist in the redistricting process. Four other maps were considered, including two that were presented by citizens.

Click here to visit the Redistricting Task Force webpage to review all five proposed district maps and other files related to the redistricting process.

City Council District 1, City Council District 2, City Council District 3, City Council District 4, City Council District 5
News, Government, City Council