African American Women Leaders’ Coalition Honors Seven Local Elected Officials for Service to Greater Arlington Community
By Office of Communication
Posted on September 03, 2021, September 03, 2021

The African American Women Leaders’ Coalition of Tarrant County recently honored seven elected officials for their commitment to service in the greater Arlington community.

The Aug. 29 event, which was open to the public, was also held to highlight the incredible 30 Americans exhibit at the Arlington Museum of Art. Exhibit attendees were able to witness the program honoring the elected officials, who each received commissioned artwork exhibiting the importance of culture, community and growth.

Honored were:

• Devan Allen, Tarrant County Commissioner - Precinct 2

 • Sandra Lee, Tarrant County Constable - Precinct 7

 • Nikkie Hunter, Arlington City Councilwoman - District 3

 • Ruby Faye Woolridge, Arlington City Councilwoman At-Large District 6

 • Dr. Barbara Odom-Wesley, Arlington City Councilwoman At-Large District 8

 • Kecia Mays, Arlington ISD School Board Trustee & President

 • Felicia Moody, Kennedale Independent School District Trustee - Place 7

 The African American Women Leaders' Coalition of Tarrant County will continue to recognize women leaders in Tarrant County who —by their actions —help to define the greater good in our community, who understand and recognize the importance of perseverance, sacrifice and the promotion of growth and excellence.

 The organization is represented by Dr. Jennifer Giddings Brooks, Mattie Peterson-Compton, Marnese Barksdale Elder, Charlece James, Kristin Vinson Wright, Pamela Dunlop Gates, Misha Sturns, Glenda Thompson, Priscilla Bowens and Connie Johnson-Bennett.

Downtown Arlington, City Council District 3, Arlington Museum of Art
News, Community, Government, Education, Arts & Culture