Arlington Housing Authority Wins Regional Awards, National Awards of Merit
By Office of Communication
Posted on August 15, 2012, August 15, 2012

The Arlington Housing Authority (AHA) has plenty to be proud of these days. The department won three Southwest National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (SW NAHRO) awards this summer, including the prestigious Charles L. Farris Award.

David Zappasodi, AHA executive director, was presented the Farris Award at the SW NAHRO conference in June. The award is given annually to an individual who has shown a personal commitment to the future of housing and redevelopment. It is the highest honor an individual can receive from SW NAHRO. Zappasodi was presented a personal plaque and his name was added to a larger plaque that has the names of past winners. That plaque will remain in Arlington until it is presented to the 2013 honoree.

The AHA also won Best Annual Report for its 2010 Annual Report and Best Coverage by a Broadcast. The latter was presented as a result of a local NBC story about the Jordan Lane Redevelopment Project by reporter Mola Lenghi. The Housing Authority's Board presented Lenghi with a Special Recognition Award at its July 17 meeting.

During the National NAHRO meeting in July, the AHA received Awards of Merit for the following:

  • Program Innovation in Affordable Housing for the Jordan Lane Redevelopment.
  • Administrative Innovation for Effective Implementation of the Homelessness Prevention Plan
  • Program Innovation in Community Revitalization for Creative Implementation of HUD/FHA Reo.

These three programs have also been nominated for Awards of Excellence. The winners will be announced this fall.

For more information on the Arlington Housing Authority, please visit the department online at To learn more about NAHRO, please visit

Housing Authority

Government, Housing, News, Planning & Development Services