Police CelebratePolice Celebrate1Police Celebrate2
Arlington Police Celebrate Achievements at Annual Awards Ceremony
By Arlington Police Department
Posted on February 14, 2018, February 14, 2018

The Arlington Police Department celebrated achievements at its annual awards ceremony on February 14, 2018. The annual celebration is sponsored by the Arlington Police Foundation and the John V. and Jeri McMillan Memorial Fund.

Two citizen-business awards were presented and honors were bestowed on 12 civilian employees and officers whose outstanding service contributed to a great year in 2017. KDFW Fox 4 News Anchor Clarice Tinsley served as the emcee as close to 750 guests were on hand for the department's Honor Guard Presentation of Colors and a performance by the Arlington High School Jazz Band.

Arlington Police Chief Will Johnson highlighted some of the department's most notable accomplishments from 2017, including the success of National Night Out, growth of adolescent mentoring programs and top honors in a national Community Policing in Action Photo Competition sponsored by the U.S. Department of Justice. Other highlights included partnerships with the business community, responses to natural disasters, and extraordinary police work. Chief Johnson will be presenting the department's Annual Report to City Council on March 6, 2018.

"This is always one of the best days of the year for me as Police Chief," said Chief Johnson. "Honoring the men and wome n who make Arlington a better place through outstanding and excellent service to our community is what makes this the best department in the nation."

During the celebration, the Arlington Police Department honored a school resource officer for his unwavering dedication to public safety at Workman Junior High School, a homicide detective was recognized for his high clearance rate and detailed work ethic, and a DWI officer who treats everyone with dignity, respect and fairness was honored for his dedication to traffic safety on Arlington roadways. The department also honored Tarrant County MHMR with the 2017 Business Partnership Award and Diane Kiel was presented the Citizens Community Award for the spirit of cooperation she brings to her volunteer assignment at the East Police Service Center.

Congratulations to Award Recipients:

Business Partnership Award -Tarrant County MHMR

Citizens Community Award -Diane Kiel

Community Support Officer of the Year - Officer Thomas McLeod

Detective of the Year -Detective Ben Lopez

Operations Officer of the Year - Officer David Hinson

Professional Employee of the Year/Administrative -Tammy Thomas

Professional Employee of the Year/Exempt or Technical - Detention Officer Michael Harris

Rookie Officer of the Year - Officer Caleb Elliott

East District Officer of the Year - Officer Robert Phillips

North District Officer of the Year -Officer Dontrayevous Robinson

South District Officer of the Year - Officer Shelly Bateman

West District Officer of the Year -Officer Tom Pfefferkorn

Supervisor of the Year -Sergeant Kris Caldwell

Overall Employee of the Year - Officer Trevor Clenney

Headlines, News, Police, Public Safety