Sheri Capehart
Council Member Sheri Capehart
District 2

Elected May 2000
Re-elected May 2004
Term expires May 2020


Send E-mail or use online form

District 2 boundaries are generally south of Interstate 20, west to the city limit at Kennedale, east to Matlock Road, and south to the city limit at Mansfield. District 2 includes the major shopping district along Cooper Street; numerous parks including Harold Patterson Sports Complex and the award-winning Tierra Verde Gold Course; three independent school districts (Arlington, Mansfield, & Kennedale); large wooded residential lots and developments.

First elected to the Arlington City Council in May 2000, Sheri Capehart has served as Mayor Pro Tempore from 2015 to 2018, while also serving on the council's Finance & Audit Committee and the Economic Development Committee. A leader on the Council for international activities, Council member Capehart is actively engaged with Arlington's Sister Cities Organization and has led multiple delegations to Bad Königshofen, Germany as well as Arlington's Christkindl Market's Partner city, Rotenburg ob der Tauber, Germany. Council member Capehart's involvement with international relationships was recognized this 2018 by being elected to the Board of Directors of Sister Cities International.

Council member Capehart has served as President of the Arlington Tomorrow Foundation, as a member of the Executive Board of the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) and as a member of the Regional Transportation Council (RTC) from 2005-2016, and as a current alternate to RTC for the Mayor.

In 2009 and 2015 Council member Capehart was elected to the National League of Cities (NLC) Board of Directors and was appointed to the Finance Committee and Board and Liaison to the NLC Corporate Partners. Capehart continues to serve on the NLC Advisory Board and the NLC Information Technology & Communications Steering Committee, where she served as Chair from 2015-2016.

A fourth-generation Texan, Council member Capehart has long been an active member of the community, serving on the Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBA) for the City of Arlington and as Chair of ZBA, the Board of Directors for Mental Health Mental Retardation of Tarrant County and on the Board of Visions. In 2003, she founded MPAC Arlington, Inc. a registered political action committee for Arlington women. She also served on the Advisory Board of Girls, Inc. of Tarrant County, Advocates for Special People, and organized the Neighborhood Women's Association.

Council member Capehart has a passion for children and animals and has championed programs to benefit the lives of both through partnerships with educational facilities. She was instrumental in championing the need for a new animal shelter and Arlington is now a leader in animal welfare through their new state of the art shelter.

Council member Capehart received the 2016 American Association of University Women's, Woman of the Year Award, the 2009 Leadership Arlington Sally Kallam Award, and the 2005 MPAC Woman of the Year Award.

Sheri retired from Lockheed Martin Grand Prairie in 2003 where she was a member of the PAC-3 Missile Program as a Computer Security Analyst.

Elected Office

  • Mayor Pro Tempore 2015 - 2018
  • Arlington City Council 2000-2003; 2004-present
  • Deputy Mayor Pro Tempore 2007-2008

Council Committees

  • Finance and Audit, Chair
  • Economic Development
  • Municipal Policy
  • (Past) Fiscal Policy
  • (Past) Community and Neighborhood Development
  • (Past) Regional Policy & Municipal Infrastructure Committee - Chair

Council Representation

  • Arlington Convention & Visitor's Bureau Board of Directors 2011 - 2017
  • Arlington Housing Finance Corporation 2011 - 2017
  • Tax Increment Reinvestment Zones
  • Arlington Tomorrow Foundation 2006 - present, President 2007 - 2011
  • NCTCOG Executive Board 2009-2010
  • NCTCOG Regional Transportation Council 2005 - 2016
  • NCTCOG Transit Authority Partnership Subcommittee
  • NCTCOG Trinity River Steering Committee
  • NCTCOG West Fork Trinity Trails
  • Tarrant Regional Transportation Coalition
  • National League of Cities - Information Technology & Communications Steering Committee, Vice Chair - 2015, Chair - 2015 - present
  • National League of Cities - Board of Directors 2009 - 2011, 2015 - present
  • Board Finance Committee (Past)
  • International Council
  • Corporate Partners Board Liaison (Past)
  • Legislative Committee

Community Service

  • 4-H Steering Committee 2017 - present
  • MISD Facilities & Growth Planning Committee 2016 - present
  • Arlington Life Shelter Advisory Board 2016 - present
  • Texas Christkindl Market Steering Committee
  • Texas Christkindl Market Innovation Committee 2015 - present
  • Arlington Community Health Council 2009 - 2012
  • JPS Health Network Committee on Services 2008 - 2012
  • Visions - Board of Directors 2003-2011
  • Mental Health Mental Retardation of Tarrant County - Board of Directors - 2003
  • Zoning Board of Adjustment 1993-2000; Chair 1996-2000
  • Citizens Bond Review Committee 1999
  • Bond Marketing Committee 1999


  • MPAC Arlington, Inc. - Founder
  • Republican Women of Arlington - 3rd Vice President 2003-2005
  • GIRLS, Inc. of Tarrant County - Advisory Board
  • GIRLS, Inc. Annual Luncheon and Fundraiser - Chair 2004
  • Arlington Area Newcomers & Friends - President 2002-2004
  • Advocates for Special People - Board of Directors
  • Neighborhood Women's Association - Founder
  • League of Women Voters
  • Arlington Historical Society
  • Southwest Action Team 1999-2001
  • Leadership Arlington
  • Girl Scouts of America - Lifetime Member
  • Sister Cities of Arlington, Texas Committee


  • American Association of University Women - Woman of the Year 2016
  • Leadership Arlington Sally Kallam Award - 2009
  • MPAC Woman of the Year - 2005


  • Arlington Resident Since 1973
  • Fourth generation Texan
  • Computer Security Analyst, Lockheed Martin, Retired 2003
  • Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society- Tarrant County Junior College

Contact Your Council Member

Do you have questions or comments for your Council Member? First, check the Frequently Asked Questions page. If you don't find an answer to your question, you are encouraged to contact your Council Member.

Question Or Comments?

Please remember to include your full name, e-mail address, home address, zip code, and a daytime phone number, to ensure that you will receive a prompt reply. Thank you! *denotes required fields.

Street Adress
State / Province / Region
ZIP / Postal Code
Daytime Phone*
Your Questions/Comments*

Security Measure